Past Members

Graduate Students:

Michael Taylor, MSc (2016-2018): Antibiotic Reduction of Bacterial Beta-Glucuronidase Activity in the Murine Gut Prevents and Reverses Mycophenolate Mofetil-Induced Gastrointestinal Toxicity

Pranav Machiraju, MSc (2017-2019): Development and Optimization of a Cellular Model for the Dilated Cardiomyopathy with Ataxia Syndrome

Sabrina Pattar, MSc (2017 - 2019): The Development and Validation of a Novel Non-Invasive Assay Based on Cell-Free DNA to Detect Acute Allograft Rejection After Heart Transplantation

Ashna Maredia, MSc (2017 - 2019, co-supervised with Dr Paul Fedak): Identification and Verification of Differentially Methylated Regions in Cell-Free DNA as a Peripheral Biomarker for Bicuspid Aortic Valve Aortopathy

Dimple Prasher, MSc (2017 - 2019): Construction and Application of an Epigenetic Atlas of the Human Heart

Melissa King, MSc (2017-2019, co-supervised with Dr Ian Lewis): A Novel Association Between Glutamine Metabolism and Clinical Progression in DCMA, a Mitochondrial Cardiomyopathy

Summer Undergraduates:

Amyna Fidai, O’Brien Centre Summer Studentship (2013)

Varun Suresh, CIHR Training Program Summer Studentship (2013)

Nick Chang, CIHR Training Program Summer Studentship (2014), 2015

Madisen Neufeld, O'Brien Centre Summer Studentship (2014)

Umair Sajid, O'Brien Centre Summer Studentship (2014), 2015, 2016

Patrick Czeczko, co-supervised with Dr. Jason de Koning (2015)

Sabrina Poonja, Markin USRP in Health and Wellness award, ACHRI award declined (2015)

Andrew Moffat, O’Brien Centre Summer Studentship (2015)

Nicole Lamont, O’Brien Centre Summer Studentship (2015)

Sam Shang, O’Brien Centre Summer Studentship (2015), Markin USRP in Health and Wellness award (2016)

Amanda Boudreau (2015, 2016)

Rachelle Loo (2015)

Aiswarya Madhu, PURE Award (2016)

Amina Mohamud, AIHS Summer Studentship (2016)

Heidi Joyce, O’Brien Centre Summer Studentship (2016)

Hannah Rahim, Markin USRP in Health and Wellness award (2017)

Fatima Iqbal, O'Brien Centre Summer Studentship (2018)

Arijit Lodha, PURE Award (2018)

MDSC 508 Bachelor of Health Sciences Honours Thesis Students:

Amyna Fidai, "Fontan-associated liver disease" (2013-2014)

Umair Sajid, "Cell-free DNA as a biomarker for injury in transplantation" (2014-2015)

Taylor Rajbar, "Bacterial composition of the human gut after fecal microbiota transplant in an immunocompromised host: a case study" (2014-2015)

Mia Hong, "Characterizing the effect of chronic immunosuppression on the human microbiome" (2014-2015)

Sabrina Poonja, "The clinical utility of contrast echocardiography" (2015-2016)

Nicole Lamont, "Developing methodology for the non-invasive genetic diagnosis of congenital heart disease during pregnancy" (2015-2016)

Jimena Rodriguez, "Effect of chronic immunosuppression on the microbiome: Mechanism of mycophenolate mofetil (MMF) toxicity" (2015-2016)

Heidi Joyce, "Composition and function of the oral microbiome after transplantation" (2017-2018)

Sam Shang "Cell-free DNA as a biomarker for atypical teratoid rhabdoid tumour" (2017-2018)

Fatima Iqbal "Developing a fluorometric assay to measure fecal bacterial B-glucuronidase activity to diagnose toxicity caused by the immunosuppressive drug mycophenolate mofetil" (2020-2021)

Irene Cheung "Characterization of the mitochondrial protease OMA1 in the Dilated Cardiomyopathy with Ataxia Syndrome (DCMA) using a direct enzyme activity assay" (2020-2021, BCEM 530, co-supervised with Dr Marie Fraser)

MDSC 528 Independent Studies in Health Sciences Students:

Sabrina Poonja (2014)

Andrew Moffat (2015-2016)

Amina Mohammud (CMMB 507, 2016)

Mohammad Aleinati (2016)

Hannah Rahim (2017)

Andrew Moffat (2017-2018)

Cooperative Students:

Sheldon Pereira (McMaster), co-supervised with Dr. Simon Hirota (January-September 2015)

Pediatrics Residents (research project supervisor):

Dr Alyssa Power (2014-2016)

Dr Leena Desai (2017-2018)

Dr Mackenzie Gault (2020 - present)

Dr Samuel Bradbrook (2020 - present)